The classical buildings that make up the Old Royal Naval College today - including the iconic twin domes - were built for purpose as the Royal Hospital for Seamen, and date back to the 17th century.Read more

History of the Painted Hall

James Thornhill was a relatively unknown artist when he received the commission to paint the Painted Hall in 1707. The work was carried out in two stages between 1708 and 1727 taking 19 years to complete; the lower hall was finished by 1712 and opened to the public in 1714.Read more