Timeline

The Old Royal Naval College (ORNC) has a rich and vibrant history stretching back for more than 2000 years.

From 100 Watling Street, the Roman road linking Dover and London is built through Greenwich Park
100- 400                        Roman temple complex built in Greenwich Park
650 Saxon burial mounds are constructed in Greenwich Park
918 Elstrudis daughter of Alfred the Great, the widow of Baldwin, Count of Flanders, presented Greenwich to the Abbey of St Peter at Ghent
964 King Edgar confirm the grants lands in Greenwich and Lewisham to the Abbey of St Peter in Ghent
1012 Viking invaders camp on Blackheath and kidnap and murder Alfege, Archbishop of Canterbury in Greenwich
1381 The Peasant’s Revolt begins on Blackheath
1414 Henry V confiscates Abbey of Ghent’s land
1426 The Manor of Greenwich is given to Humphrey, Duke of Gloucester.
1433 Duke Humphrey encloses Greenwich Park and builds Bella Court by the Thames
1447 Bella Court is seized by Margaret of Anjou, Henry VI’s Queen and renamed Placentia
1491 Henry VIII born at Placentia
1501 Henry VII rebuilds Placentia and renames it Greenwich Palace
1533 Elizabeth I born at Greenwich Palace
1547 Edward died here at Greenwich Palace.
1585 Elizabeth signs death warrant of her cousin Mary, Queen of Scots at Greenwich Palace
1616 Queen’s House begun for Queen Anne of Denmark
1665 The Great Plague strikes London and Samuel Pepys moves to Greenwich with the Admiralty into Kings House
1675 Royal Observatory founded in Greenwich Park
1694 Queen Mary founds the Royal Hospital for Seamen
1705 The first 42 pensioners arrive at the Royal Hospital while building continues
1708 James Thornhill begins to decorate the Painted
1751  Royal Hospital for Seamen buildings completed
1779 Chapel gutted by fire and rebuilt by James ‘Athenian’ Stuart’
1806 Nelson’s body lies in state in the Painted Hall following his death at Trafalgar in 1805
1836 The world’s first suburban railway opens.  It runs from London Bridge to Greenwich
1869 The Royal Hospital closes
1873 Royal Naval College – the Navy’s university - opens
1884 Longitude 0° at Greenwich becomes Prime Meridian
1902 The Greenwich Foot Tunnel is opened
1937 The National Maritime Museum is opened by King George VI
1954 Cutty Sark is moved into a dry dock at Greenwich
1997 Greenwich becomes a World Heritage Site
1998 Royal Naval College closes. Greenwich Foundation founded to look after the Old Royal Naval College (ORNC)
1999 University of Greenwich moves to the ORNC site
2001 Trinity College of Music (now Trinity Laban) moves into King Charles building
2010 Discover Greenwich Visitor Centre opens to the public

You might also be interested in:

Book a guided tour

Let our experienced Yeomen guides take you on a 60-minute tour of the Old Royal Naval College.
Read more